Concerts

The NWU School of Music presents an annual concert series featuring local, national and international musicians. The variety of concerts is well balanced and include various genres, from classical and jazz to popular and indigenous music.

Follow our social media channels below and subscribe to our mailing list for all the concert announcements.

E-mail us!Like us on FacebookFollow our Twitter feedRead our Take Note blogView our Instagram feedWatch our YouTube channelJoin our LinkedIn groupSubscribe to our mailing list

 

2019 Concert Series

1st Semester : February – May

 

2nd Semester : July – October

     

Tuesday 19 February • 19:00 ~ The Bruckner University Big Band

Tuesday 26 February • 19:30 ~ Potchpourri!

Tuesday 5 March • 19:30 ~ Susan Yondt (piano)

Tuesday 19 March • 19:30 ~ Fragment: Magdalena de Vries (marimba)

Tuesday 2 April • 19:30 ~ Trio du Cap Classique
with Liesl Stoltz (flute), David Pinoit (cello) & François du Toit (piano)

Tuesday 9 April • 19:30 ~ Fun & Games
with Piet Koornhof (violin) & Tinus Botha (piano)

Sunday 14 April • 15:30 ~ Trajectoires: Quatuor Avena

Tuesday 16 April • 19:30 ~ Virtuoso flute music from around the world
with Khanyisile Mthetwa (flute) & Peter Cartwright (piano)

Sunday 12 May • 15:30 ~ Romance and Sentimentality — Chopin and Dvorak
with Amit Yahav (piano) & Odeion String Quartet

Tuesday 14 May • 19:30 ~ WIND — A natural phenomenon depicted in music: Caroline Oltmanns (piano)

Thursday 16 May • 19:30 ~ Helton-Thomas Duo

Tuesday 21 May • 19:30 ~ Collegium Musicum Ensemble Fest

Sunday 26 May • 19:30 ~ Wind Ensemble Concert I

 

Tuesday 16 July • 19:30 ~ Trio of Trios
with Piet Koornhof (violin), Human Coetzee (cello) & Jana Mathee (piano)

Tuesday 23 July • 16:00-21:30 ~ Pukki-Klassiek

Tuesday 30 July • 19:30 ~ South African Music Concert

Satruday 17 August • 19:30 ~ Kreisjugend-Orchester — Ludwigsburg

Tuesday 20 August • 19:30 ~ Collegium Musicum — Staff Ensemble Concert

Tuesday 27 August • 19:30 ~ Spring Ensemble Concert

Tuesday 3 September • 19:30 ~ Minette du Toit-Pearce (mezzo soprano) & Nico de Villiers (piano)

Sunday 8 September • 15:30 ~ Marguerite van Wyk (soprano), Truida van der Walt (piano) & Piet Koornhof (violin)

Tuesday 10 September • 19:30 ~ Four hand and two piano performance
with Michael Tsalka, Tinus Botha, Waldo Weyer & Jana Mathee

Tuesday 1 October • 19:30 ~ The complete Brahms string sonatas and piano trios
with Piet Koornhof (violin), Human Coetzee (cello), Waldo Weyer (piano), Catrien Mulder-Wentink (piano) & Jana Mathee (piano)

Sunday 6 October • 15:30 ~ Wind Ensemble Concert II

Tuesday 8 October • 19:30 ~ Trio Intolerance: Nosferatu — Symphony of Horror
with Danrè Strydom, Cèzarre Strydom & Jana Mathee

Sunday 13 October • 15:30 ~ The complete Brahms string sonatas and piano trios
with Piet Koornhof (violin), Human Coetzee (cello), Waldo Weyer (piano), Catrien Mulder-Wentink (piano) & Albi Odendaal (piano)

Sunday 20 October • 15:30 ~ The complete Brahms string sonatas and piano trios
with Piet Koornhof (violin), Human Coetzee (cello), Tinus Botha (piano), Catrien Mulder-Wentink (piano) & Jana Mathee (piano)

Tuesday 22 October • 19:30 ~ Bursary Winners' Concert

Sunday 27 October • 15:30 ~ The complete Brahms string sonatas and piano trios
with Piet Koornhof (violin) & Albi Odendaal (piano)