Concerts

The NWU School of Music presents an annual concert series featuring local, national and international musicians. The variety of concerts is well balanced and include various genres, from classical and jazz to popular and indigenous music.

Follow our social media channels below and subscribe to our mailing list for all the concert announcements.

E-mail us!Like us on FacebookFollow our Twitter feedRead our Take Note blogView our Instagram feedWatch our YouTube channelJoin our LinkedIn groupSubscribe to our mailing list

 

2018 Concert Series

1st Semester : February – May

 

2nd Semester : July – October

     

Tuesday 20 February • 19:30 ~ Potchpourri

Tuesday 27 February • 19:30 ~ Stockholm Music Academy Choir

Tuesday 13 March • 19:30 ~ Staff Ensemble Concert

Tuesday 27 March • 19:30 ~ Handel Masterpieces
with the North-West Consort & OSM Camerata

Tuesday 17 April • 19:30 ~ O Soetste Taal
with Antoinette Olivier (soprano), Jana Mathee (soprano), Dolf Mathee (baritone), Waldo Weyer (piano), Tinus Botha (piano)

Tuesday 8 May • 19:30 ~ Liesl Stoltz (flute) & Albie van Schalkwyk (piano)

Tuesday 22 May • 19:30 ~ Due Cellisti
with Polina Burdukova (cello), Carel Henn (cello) & Kerryn Wisniewski (piano)

Sunday 27 May • 15:30 ~ Music from the Stage and Screen

Tuesday 29 May • 19:30 ~ Spencer Myer (piano)

 

Thursday 19 July • 19:30 ~ Doug Masek (saxophone) & Neal Stulberg (piano)

Tuesday 24 July • 19:30 ~ Junnan Sun (clarinet) CANCELLED

Tuesday 7 August • 19:30 ~ David Jalbert (piano)

Sunday 26 August • 15:30 ~ Alissa Margulis (violin) & Luis Magalhães (piano)

Tuesday 28 August • 19:30 ~ South African Music Concert

Tuesday 4 September • 19:30 ~ Quartet for the End of Time
with Danré Strydom (clarinet), Samson Diamond (violin), Anmari van der Westhuizen (cello) & Grethe Nöthling (piano)

Tuesday 11 September • 19:30 ~ Spring Ensemble Concert

Sunday 16 September • 15:30 ~ Wind Band Concert II

Tuesday 18 September • 19:30 ~ Human Coetzee (cello) & Tinus Botha (piano)

Tuesday 16 October • 19:30 ~ Staff Concert

Tuesday 23 October • 19:30 ~ Bursary Winners' Concert

 

David Jalbert (piano)Saxophone & PianoSpencer Myer (piano)Music from the Stage and ScreenDue CellistiFlute and PianoO Soetste TaalHandel MasterpiecesStaff Ensemble Concert20180227-Stockholm Music Academy Choir20180220 - Best of Potchpourri