Ms Anneke Butler

Lecturer of Academic Literacy
BA; HED; BEd (Psig); MA.
Linguistics; Morphology (especially in Afrikaans); Academic Reading; Academic Writing; Material Development; Test Development
  +27 16 910 3502
 anneke.butler@nwu.ac.za
   Building 7 - 204, Vanderbijlpark

Prof Bernard Nchindila

Professor, ODL Programme Leader

PhD, MA (Unisa), Cambridge Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults (CELTA) (Cambridge), BA English with Education, Advanced Certificate in Human Resource Management (Zambia)

English linguistics, Reading literacy, ESL, EFL, ODL
  +27 18 389 2302
 Bernard.Nchindila@nwu.ac.za
   ADC Building Block B, Office 246, Mahikeng

Prof Bertus van Rooy

Director of Focus Area: UPSET
MA, PhD
Language, Linguistics, Afrikaans, English, Language evolution and change, Sociolinguistics, Corpus Linguistics, South African English varieties, World Englishes
  +27 16 910 3482
 bertus.vanrooy@nwu.ac.za
   Building 6, Office 107, Vanderbijlpark

Ms Caroline Piotrowska

Lecturer of English Linguistics

Master of Arts in English

Internet linguistics, sociolinguistics, modernism, comics
  +27 16 910 3477
 Carolina.Piotrowska@nwu.ac.za
   Building 7-225, Vanderbijlpark

Dr Eileen Pooe

Senior Lecturer

MA

Literature, Translation and Interpreting
  +27 18 389 2347
 Eileen.pooe@nwu.ac.za
   Base building,B161, Mahikeng

Dr Ella Wehrmeyer

Senior Lecturer of Language Practice
Doctor of Literature and Philosophy (DLitt et Phil)
Translation and Interpreting Studies
 ella.wehrmeyer@nwu.ac.za
   Building 31-103, Vanderbijlpark

Dr Esté Hefer-Jordaan

Director: School of Languages and Senior Lecturer
PhD Language Practice
BA Hons. Language Practice
BA Language and Literary Studies
Audiovisual translation (AVT), subtitling, eye tracking
  +27 16 910 3251
 este.hefer@nwu.ac.za
   Building 31, Office 104, Vanderbijlpark

Dr Frans van der Slik

Research Associate  f.v.d.slik@let.ru.nl

Mr Gordon Matthew

Research Technologist
MA Language and Literary Studies
Eye Tracking, Cognitive load, Named entity recognition, serious games, Computer hardware and software
 gordon.matthew@nwu.ac.za
   Building 7, Office 221, Vanderbijlpark

Dr Gustav Butler

Lecturer
PhD
Curriculum and course design for academic literacy interventions; The teaching and learning of academic writing; The translation of academic literacy assessment instruments; Applied linguistics
  +27 16 910 3480
 gustav.butler@nwu.ac.za
   Building 31, Office G03, Vanderbijlpark

Dr Henri Laurie

Lecturer of Academic Literacy
PhD
Literature esp. 20th Century and Science Fiction, Literary Theory, Academic Literacy, Visual Culture
  +27 16 910 3479
 henri.laurie@nwu.ac.za
   Building 7, Office 215, Vanderbijlpark

Dr Herculene Kotzé

Deputy Director (School of Languages)

BA; MA (UFS); PhD (NWU)

Translation and Translation Training; Interpreting and Interpreting Training; Educational Interpreting
  +27 18 299 1502
 herculene.kotze@nwu.ac.za
   Building E9 - G28, Potchefstroom

Prof Ian Bekker

Professor of English Linguistics

PhD

English Linguistics; Sociolinguistics; Phonetics
  +27 18 299 1551
 ian.bekker@nwu.ac.za
   Building E9 - 215, Potchefstroom

Mr Jacques Heyns

Writing Centre Coordinator   +27 16 910 3485
 Jacques.Heyns@nwu.ac.za

Mr Joel Moletsane

Lecturer

MA

Academic reading, academic writing and Second language acquisition
  +27 18 389 2055
 Joel.moletsane@nwu.ac.za
   Building A2, Room G084, Mahikeng

Dr Johanita Kirsten

Senior Lecturer of Afrikaans Linguistics
BA; BA Hons; MA; PhD
Afrikaans Historical Linguistics and Sociolinguistics
  +27 16 910 3474
 johanita.kirsten@nwu.ac.za
   Building 7 - 208, Vanderbijlpark

Mr Johannes Tsietsi Mahlasela

Lecturer
MA (Language Practice)
Translation; Proof-reading; Editing and Language Testing
  +27 16 910 3215
 johannes.mahlasela@nwu.ac.za
   Building 7 - 222, Vanderbijlpark

Dr Karien van den Berg

Senior Lecturer of English Linguistics

BA; BA Hons; MA; PhD (NWU); Forensic Linguistics

English as a Second Language; Language Testing; Discourse Analysis; Forensic Linguistics; Assessing writing
  +27 18 299 1554
 karien.hattingh@nwu.ac.za
   Building E9 - 218, Potchefstroom

Ms Keabetswe Motlhodi

Junior Lecturer

BA Language Practice, BA Language Practice (Hons)

Translation, proofreading and editing (Setswana)
  +27 16 910 3491
 kea.motlhodi@nwu.ac.za
   Building 31, Office 105, Vanderbijlpark
Kehilwe Mose

Me Kehilwe Mose

Junior Lecturer

Hons – English and B.A. Ed (Currently pursuing MA in English)

Academic Literacy and Languages
  +27 18 389 2361
 16093968@nwu.ac.za
   General Academic Building, B-Block, Office 157, Mahikeng

Dr Kristien Andrianatos

Lecturer: Academic Literacy

Bachelor in Information Science (UP), Postgraduate certificate in Education (UP), BEdHons (NWU), MEd (NWU), PhD in Curriculum Development (NWU)

Reading in higher education and multimodal blended learning within the field of academic literacy.
  +27 18 299 1045
 13132873@nwu.ac.za
   F4, 108A, Potchefstroom,

Ms Laurinda van Tonder

Lecturer

MA Applied Linguistics (UJ); BA (Hons) Applied Linguistics (UJ); BA Language Practice (UJ)

Fansubbing, Non-professional Translation, Audiovisual Translation, Applied Linguistics, Interpreting.
  +27 18 299 4434
 Laurinda.vantonder@nwu.ac.za
   Building E9, Office G23 , Potchefstroom

Mr Lebohang Mathibela

Lecturer of Language Practice

MA

Interpreting and Translation
  +27 16 910 3494
 lebohang.mathibela@nwu.ac.za
   Building 31 - 102, Vanderbijlpark

Prof Liqhwa Siziba

Deputy Director (School of Languages) and Senior Lecturer   +27 18 389 2168
 Liqhwa.siziba@nwu.ac.za
    Base Building , Office G68 Block B, Mahikeng

Ms Mari-Leigh Pienaar

Lecturer of Academic Literacy
MA (Afrikaans)
Academic literacy, text editing, bi- and multilingualism, applied linguistics
  +27 16 910 3506
 marileigh.pienaar@nwu.ac.za
   Building 7, Office 209, Vanderbijlpark

Dr Maristi Partridge

Senior Lecturer of English Linguistics
BA, BAHons, MA, PhD
Linguistics, Corpus Linguistics, World Englishes
  +27 16 910 3461
 maristi.partridge@nwu.ac.za
   Building 31, Room 104, Vanderbijlpark

Dr Melanie Ann Law

Senior Lecturer and Subject group leader
BA, BA Hons, MA in Language Practice (NWU); PhD Linguistics, Cotutelle (NWU and Macquarie University)
Editing, corpus linguistics, language variation and change, World Englishes
  +27 16 910 3508
+27 16 910 3463
 Melanie.Law@nwu.ac.za
   Building 31, Office 101, Vanderbijlpark

Ms Mimi Nokuthula Masango

Lecturer of Academic Literacy

MTech: Language Practice

  +27 18 389 2470
 Mimi.masango@nwu.ac.za

Mrs Nicole Schutte

Lecturer of Academic Literacy
MA in Language Practice
Audio description
  +27 16 910 3488
 nicole.schutte@nwu.ac.za
   Building 7, Room 204, Vanderbijlpark

Mr Ninan Samuel

Lecturer

M. A.

English Language and Literature, Academic Literacy
  +27 18 389 2541
 Ninan.samuel@nwu.ac.za
   Block B Building A2, G79, Mahikeng

Dr Paul Nepapleh Nkamta

Senior Lecturer

PhD in English, MA in Translation, PGCE, BA (Hons) in English

Multilingualism, multiculturalism, reading literacy, language teaching and learning
  +27 18 389 2895
 21114374@nwu.ac.za
   Building A3, Block-B, Office 160, Mahikeng

Dr Pheladi Fakude

Lecturer of Academic Literacy

BEd; BA Hons; MA (UL); PhD (NWU)

Academic Literacy, Bi-and Multilingualism, Applied Linguistics, eye movement reading
  +27 16 910 3501
016 910 3463
 pheladi.fakude@nwu.ac.za
   Building 7-220, Vanderbijlpark Campus, Vanderbijlpark

Dr Ronel Wasserman

Senior Lecturer of English Linguistics

BA in Language and Literary Studies; BA Hons in English; MA conferred with PhD in English

Sociolinguistics; Historical Linguistics; South African English Varieties; Register Studies; Semantics of the Verb
  +27 16 910 3401
 ronel.wasserman@nwu.ac.za
   Building 7 - 201, Vanderbijlpark

Ms Sarah Matsetela

Junior Lecturer in Academic Literacy

BA Hons English (Limpopo)

  +27 18 389 2561
 sarah.matsetela@nwu.ac.za
   Building A2, Block B, Room G70, Mahikeng

Mrs Stephanie Mostert

Junior Lecturer of Academic Literacy
Degree in Humanities (Psychology and English)
Honours in English – Cum Laude
Applied linguistics: bilingualism, language for law students; Academic Literacy, Academic Reading,
  +27 16 910 3511
 stephanie.mostert@nwu.ac.za
   Building 7, Office 211, Vanderbijlpark

Dr Taty Dekoke

Lecturer of French
MA French didactics: French as a foreign language (UCT)
PhD Linguistics and Literary Theory (NWU)
French language, Migrations, Multilingualism, Languages repertoires
  +27 16 910 3493
+27 16 910 3463
 taty.dekoke@nwu.ac.za
   Building 7, Office 219, Vanderbijlpark

Ms Theresa Louw

Senior Administrative Assistant Administration
  +27 16 910 3442
 theresa.louw@nwu.ac.za
   Building 6, Office 108, Vanderbijlpark

Prof Tobie van Dyk

Lecturer of applied linguistics and Academic Literacy

BA; BA Hons; HED; MA; PhD

25 Years academic expertise in mainly language for specific purposes
  +27 18 299 1551
 tobie.vandyk@nwu.ac.za
   Building E9-217, Potchefstroom, Potchefstroom

Mrs Wendy Barrow

Manager: CTrans and Lecturer: German
BA (Languages); BA Hons. (Translation Studies); MA (Language Practice)
Translation Studies; German as a foreign language
  +27 16 910 3485
 wendy.barrow@nwu.ac.za
   Building 7, Office 202, Vanderbijlpark

Dr Yolande Botha

Senior Lecturer of English Linguistics

BA; BA Hons; MA; PhD

Corpus Linguistics; Systemic Functional Linguistics; Grammatical Analyses
  +27 18 299 1561
 lande.botha@nwu.ac.za
   Building E9 - 224, Potchefstroom

Ms Zhandi van Zyl

Lecturer of Academic Literacy and English
BA Language Practice; BA Hons. Journalism; MA in Applied Language Studies
eacher/lecturer identity and bilingualism; multilingualism in the classroom; language repertoire methodologies.
  +27 16 910 3468
 zhandi.vanzyl@nwu.ac.za
   Building 7, Room 214, Vanderbijlpark

Prof Adri Breed

Subject group leader (Potchefstroom Campus): Associate professor of Afrikaans and Dutch Linguistics

BBk; BTh; BA Hons; MA; PhD (NWU)

Afrikaans Linguistics; Descriptive Linguistics; Grammaticalisation; Tense and Aspect
  +27 18 299 1563
 adri.breed@nwu.ac.za
   Building E9 - 243, Potchefstroom

Ms Nina Brink

Lecturer of Afrikaans and Dutch Linguistics

BA; BA Hons; MA (NWU)

Afrikaans Linguistics; Cognitive Linguistics; Applied Linguistics; Child Language Acquisition
  +27 18 299 1486
 nina.brink@nwu.ac.za
   Building E9 - 238, Potchefstroom

Extraordinary Professors/Researchers

Botha

Werner

Professor

 

AL

PhD

 

 

Doherty

Stephen

Professor

 

LP

PhD

 

 

Holmqvist

Kenneth

Professor

 

AL, LP

PhD

 

 

Kotze

Haidee

Professor

 

DL,LP

PhD

 

Y1

Kruger

Jan-Louis

Professor

 

LP

PhD

 

 

Peters

Arne

Assistant professor

 

AL

PhD

 

 

Ravyse

Natasha

Doctor

 

AL

PhD

 

 

Rosenbach

Anette

Independent

 

DL

PhD

 

 

Van der Slik

Frans

Professor

 

AL

PhD

 

 

Van Rooy

Bertus

Professor

 

DL

PhD

 

B2