Staff

Extraordinary Professors/Researchers

Botha

Werner

Professor

 

AL

PhD

 

 

Doherty

Stephen

Professor

 

LP

PhD

 

 

Holmqvist

Kenneth

Professor

 

AL, LP

PhD

 

 

Kotze

Haidee

Professor

 

DL,LP

PhD

 

Y1

Kruger

Jan-Louis

Professor

 

LP

PhD

 

 

Peters

Arne

Assistant professor

 

AL

PhD

 

 

Ravyse

Natasha

Doctor

 

AL

PhD

 

 

Rosenbach

Anette

Independent

 

DL

PhD

 

 

Van der Slik

Frans

Professor

 

AL

PhD

 

 

Van Rooy

Bertus

Professor

 

DL

PhD

 

B2

  Ms Anneke Butler

  Lecturer of Academic Literacy
  +27 16 910 3502
  anneke.butler@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7 - 204, Vanderbijlpark
BA; HED; BEd (Psig); MA.
  Linguistics; Morphology (especially in Afrikaans); Academic Reading; Academic Writing; Material Development; Test Development

  Prof Bernard Nchindila

  Professor, ODL Programme Leader
  +27 18 389 2302
  Bernard.Nchindila@nwu.ac.za
  ADC Building Block B, Office 246, Mafikeng
PhD, MA (Unisa), Cambridge Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults (CELTA) (Cambridge), BA English with Education, Advanced Certificate in Human Resource Management (Zambia)
  English linguistics, Reading literacy, ESL, EFL, ODL

  Prof Bertus van Rooy

  Director of Focus Area: UPSET
  +27 16 910 3482
  bertus.vanrooy@nwu.ac.za
  Building 6, Office 107, Vanderbijlpark
MA, PhD
  Language, Linguistics, Afrikaans, English, Language evolution and change, Sociolinguistics, Corpus Linguistics, South African English varieties, World Englishes

  Ms Caroline Piotrowska

  Lecturer of English Linguistics
  +27 16 910 3477
  Carolina.Piotrowska@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7-225, Vanderbijlpark
Master of Arts in English
  Internet linguistics, sociolinguistics, modernism, comics

  Dr Eileen Pooe

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2347
  Eileen.pooe@nwu.ac.za
  Base building,B161, Mafikeng
MA
  Literature, Translation and Interpreting

  Dr Ella Wehrmeyer

  Senior Lecturer of Language Practice
  ella.wehrmeyer@nwu.ac.za
  Building 31-103, Vanderbijlpark
Doctor of Literature and Philosophy (DLitt et Phil)
  Translation and Interpreting Studies

  Dr Esté Hefer-Jordaan

  Director: School of Languages and Senior Lecturer
  +27 16 910 3251
  este.hefer@nwu.ac.za
  Building 31, Office 104, Vanderbijlpark
PhD Language Practice BA Hons. Language Practice BA Language and Literary Studies
  Audiovisual translation (AVT), subtitling, eye tracking

  Dr Frans van der Slik

  Research Associate
  f.v.d.slik@let.ru.nl

  Mr Gordon Matthew

  Research Technologist
  +27 16 910 3496
  gordon.matthew@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 221, Vanderbijlpark
MA Language and Literary Studies
  Eye Tracking, Cognitive load, Named entity recognition, serious games, Computer hardware and software

  Dr Gustav Butler

  Lecturer
  +27 16 910 3480
  gustav.butler@nwu.ac.za
  Building 31, Office G03, Vanderbijlpark
PhD
  Curriculum and course design for academic literacy interventions; The teaching and learning of academic writing; The translation of academic literacy assessment instruments; Applied linguistics

  Dr Henri Laurie

  Lecturer of Academic Literacy
  +27 16 910 3479
  henri.laurie@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 215, Vanderbijlpark
PhD
  Literature esp. 20th Century and Science Fiction, Literary Theory, Academic Literacy, Visual Culture

  Dr Herculene Kotzé

  Deputy Director (School of Languages)
  +27 18 299 1502
  herculene.kotze@nwu.ac.za
  Building E9 - G28, Potchefstroom
BA; MA (UFS); PhD (NWU)
  Translation and Translation Training; Interpreting and Interpreting Training; Educational Interpreting

  Prof Ian Bekker

  Professor of English Linguistics
  +27 18 299 1551
  ian.bekker@nwu.ac.za
  Building E9 - 215, Potchefstroom
PhD
  English Linguistics; Sociolinguistics; Phonetics

  Mr Jacques Heyns

  Writing Centre Coordinator
  +27 16 910 3485
  Jacques.Heyns@nwu.ac.za

  Mr Joel Moletsane

  Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2055
  Joel.moletsane@nwu.ac.za
  Building A2, Room G084, Mafikeng
MA
  Academic reading, academic writing and Second language acquisition

  Dr Johanita Kirsten

  Senior Lecturer of Afrikaans Linguistics
  +27 16 910 3474
  johanita.kirsten@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7 - 208, Vanderbijlpark
BA; BA Hons; MA; PhD
  Afrikaans Historical Linguistics and Sociolinguistics

  Mr Johannes Tsietsi Mahlasela

  Lecturer
  +27 16 910 3215
  johannes.mahlasela@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7 - 222, Vanderbijlpark
MA (Language Practice)
  Translation; Proof-reading; Editing and Language Testing

  Dr Karien van den Berg

  Senior Lecturer of English Linguistics
  +27 18 299 1554
  karien.hattingh@nwu.ac.za
  Building E9 - 218, Potchefstroom
BA; BA Hons; MA; PhD (NWU); Forensic Linguistics
  English as a Second Language; Language Testing; Discourse Analysis; Forensic Linguistics; Assessing writing

  Ms Keabetswe Motlhodi

  Junior Lecturer
  +27 16 910 3491
  kea.motlhodi@nwu.ac.za
  Building 31, Office 105, Vanderbijlpark
BA Language Practice, BA Language Practice (Hons)
  Translation, proofreading and editing (Setswana)

  Me Kehilwe Mose

  Junior Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2361
  16093968@nwu.ac.za
  General Academic Building, B-Block, Office 157, Mafikeng
Hons – English and B.A. Ed (Currently pursuing MA in English)
  Academic Literacy and Languages

  Dr Kristien Andrianatos

  Lecturer: Academic Literacy
  +27 18 299 1045
  13132873@nwu.ac.za
  F4, 108A, Potchefstroom,
Bachelor in Information Science (UP), Postgraduate certificate in Education (UP), BEdHons (NWU), MEd (NWU), PhD in Curriculum Development (NWU)
  Reading in higher education and multimodal blended learning within the field of academic literacy.

  Ms Laurinda van Tonder

  Lecturer
  +27 18 299 4434
  Laurinda.vantonder@nwu.ac.za
  Building E9, Office G23 , Potchefstroom
MA Applied Linguistics (UJ); BA (Hons) Applied Linguistics (UJ); BA Language Practice (UJ)
  Fansubbing, Non-professional Translation, Audiovisual Translation, Applied Linguistics, Interpreting.

  Mr Lebohang Mathibela

  Lecturer of Language Practice
  +27 16 910 3494
  lebohang.mathibela@nwu.ac.za
  Building 31 - 102, Vanderbijlpark
MA
  Interpreting and Translation

  Prof Liqhwa Siziba

  Deputy Director (School of Languages) and Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2168
  Liqhwa.siziba@nwu.ac.za
   Base Building , Office G68 Block B, Mafikeng

  Ms Mari-Leigh Pienaar

  Lecturer of Academic Literacy
  +27 16 910 3506
  marileigh.pienaar@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 209, Vanderbijlpark
MA (Afrikaans)
  Academic literacy, text editing, bi- and multilingualism, applied linguistics

  Dr Maristi Partridge

  Senior Lecturer of English Linguistics
  +27 16 910 3461
  maristi.partridge@nwu.ac.za
  Building 31, Room 104, Vanderbijlpark
BA, BAHons, MA, PhD
  Linguistics, Corpus Linguistics, World Englishes

  Dr Melanie Ann Law

  Senior Lecturer and Subject group leader
  +27 16 910 3508
  melanie.law@nwu.ac.za
  Building 31, Office 101, Vanderbijlpark
BA, BA Hons, MA in Language Practice (NWU); PhD Linguistics, Cotutelle (NWU and Macquarie University)
  Editing, corpus linguistics, language variation and change, World Englishes

  Ms Mimi Nokuthula Masango

  Lecturer of Academic Literacy
  +27 18 389 2470
  Mimi.masango@nwu.ac.za
MTech: Language Practice

  Mrs Nicole Schutte

  Lecturer of Academic Literacy
  +27 16 910 3488
  nicole.schutte@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Room 204, Vanderbijlpark
MA in Language Practice
  Audio description

  Mr Ninan Samuel

  Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2541
  Ninan.samuel@nwu.ac.za
  Block B Building A2, G79, Mafikeng
M. A.
  English Language and Literature, Academic Literacy

  Dr Paul Nepapleh Nkamta

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2895
  21114374@nwu.ac.za
  Building A3, Block-B, Office 160, Mafikeng
PhD in English, MA in Translation, PGCE, BA (Hons) in English
  Multilingualism, multiculturalism, reading literacy, language teaching and learning

  Dr Pheladi Fakude

  Lecturer of Academic Literacy
  +27 16 910 3501
  24474134@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7-220, Vanderbijlpark Campus, Vanderbijlpark
BEd; BA Hons; MA (UL); PhD (NWU)
  Academic Literacy, Bi-and Multilingualism, Applied Linguistics, eye movement reading

  Dr Ronel Wasserman

  Senior Lecturer of English Linguistics
  +27 16 910 3401
  ronel.wasserman@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7 - 201, Vanderbijlpark
BA in Language and Literary Studies; BA Hons in English; MA conferred with PhD in English
  Sociolinguistics; Historical Linguistics; South African English Varieties; Register Studies; Semantics of the Verb

  Ms Sarah Matsetela

  Junior Lecturer in Academic Literacy
  +27 18 389 2561
  sarah.matsetela@nwu.ac.za
  Building A2, Block B, Room G70, Mafikeng
BA Hons English (Limpopo)

  Mrs Stephanie Mostert

  Junior Lecturer of Academic Literacy
  +27 16 910 3511
  stephanie.mostert@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 211, Vanderbijlpark
Degree in Humanities (Psychology and English) Honours in English – Cum Laude
  Applied linguistics: bilingualism, language for law students; Academic Literacy, Academic Reading,

  Dr Taty Dekoke

  Lecturer of French
  +27 16 910 3493
  taty.dekoke@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 219, Vanderbijlpark
MA French didactics: French as a foreign language (UCT) PhD Linguistics and Literary Theory (NWU)
  French language, Migrations, Multilingualism, Languages repertoires

  Ms Theresa Louw

  Senior Administrative Assistant
  +27 16 910 3442
  theresa.louw@nwu.ac.za
  Building 6, Office 108, Vanderbijlpark
  Administration

  Prof Tobie van Dyk

  Lecturer of applied linguistics and Academic Literacy
  +27 18 299 1551
  tobie.vandyk@nwu.ac.za
  Building E9-217, Potchefstroom, Potchefstroom
BA; BA Hons; HED; MA; PhD
  25 Years academic expertise in mainly language for specific purposes

  Mrs Wendy Barrow

  Manager: CTrans and Lecturer: German
  +27 16 910 3485
  wendy.barrow@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Office 202, Vanderbijlpark
BA (Languages); BA Hons. (Translation Studies); MA (Language Practice)
  Translation Studies; German as a foreign language

  Dr Yolande Botha

  Senior Lecturer of English Linguistics
  +27 18 299 1561
  lande.botha@nwu.ac.za
  Building E9 - 224, Potchefstroom
BA; BA Hons; MA; PhD
  Corpus Linguistics; Systemic Functional Linguistics; Grammatical Analyses

  Ms Zhandi van Zyl

  Lecturer of Academic Literacy and English
  +27 16 910 3468
  zhandi.vanzyl@nwu.ac.za
  Building 7, Room 214, Vanderbijlpark
BA Language Practice; BA Hons. Journalism; MA in Applied Language Studies
  eacher/lecturer identity and bilingualism; multilingualism in the classroom; language repertoire methodologies.

  Prof Adri Breed

  Subject group leader (Potchefstroom Campus): Associate professor of Afrikaans and Dutch Linguistics
  +27 18 299 1563
  adri.breed@nwu.ac.za
  Building E9 - 243, Potchefstroom
BBk; BTh; BA Hons; MA; PhD (NWU)
  Afrikaans Linguistics; Descriptive Linguistics; Grammaticalisation; Tense and Aspect

  Ms Nina Brink

  Lecturer of Afrikaans and Dutch Linguistics
  +27 18 299 1486
  nina.brink@nwu.ac.za
  Building E9 - 238, Potchefstroom
BA; BA Hons; MA (NWU)
  Afrikaans Linguistics; Cognitive Linguistics; Applied Linguistics; Child Language Acquisition